In North Macedonia, a member of the Union of Turkish World Municipalities (TDBB), the second round of local elections was held on Sunday, 31 October 2021. The first round of local elections in North Macedonia to determine the 81 mayors and city councilors was held on 17 October 2021. In the second round, the two candidates who received the most votes compete in municipalities where the 50 percent vote limit was not exceeded in the previous round.

In the second round, 1 million 353 thousand 990 voters cast their votes in 2,481 ballot boxes to determine 45 mayors. In the elections, mayoral candidates from different parties competed for 45 municipalities, including the capital Skopje.ü

In the statement made by the North Macedonia State Election Board (DİK), it was recorded that 48.88 percent of the voters (633 thousand 144 voters) cast their votes.

While 34 mayors were elected in the first round, the opposition Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization-Macedonian National Democratic Union (VMRO-DPMNE) won 22 municipalities, the ruling party Union of Social Democrats of Macedonia (SDSM) won 9, and the ruling coalition partner Democratic Union for Integration (BDI) won 3 municipalities.

In the municipalities of Mavrovo-Rostushe and Central Jupa, the election will be repeated at a later date, as the turnout in the first round was below the determined percentage.

Following the loss of votes in local elections, North Macedonian Prime Minister Zoran Zaev resigned as prime minister as well as chairman of the Social Democratic Alliance of Macedonia (SDMS).

The capital Skopje got its first female mayor. Independent candidate Danela Arsovska, who received the support of the main opposition as in the first round, won the second round of the Skopje mayoral race.

Turks, who have a population of approximately 4% in North Macedonia, participated in the elections with three political parties. Turkish Democratic Party (TDP), Turkish Action Party (THP) and Turkish National Unity Movement (TMBH) also took part in the elections in the country.

Union of Turkish World Municipalities (TDBB) North Macedonia Administrative Board Member Arben Taravari was re-elected as Mayor in Gostiva