“19th International Golden Saffron Documentary Film Festival” Awards, supported also by Union of Turkish World Municipalities (TDBB) and organized by Safranbolu Municipality between 6 and 8 September 2018, with the theme of “Cultural Heritage and Protectionism” including a sub-theme as Neighborhood Culture, were presented to the winners at the ceremony organized in Safranbolu on 8 September 2018.

The award ceremony at Karabük University Safranbolu Fine Arts Faculty Conference Hall on September 8 was attended by MPs Cumhur Ünal, Niyazi Güneş and Hüseyin Avni Aksoy, District Governor and Mayor of Safranbolu Fatih Ürkmezer and many other well-known guests from documentary film world.

In the Professional Documentary Film branch, the documentary film namely ‘Anadolu Kadınları Teşkilatı: Baciyan-ı Rum’ (The Organization of Anatolian Women: Baciyan-ı Rum) directed by Tayfun Tanju Kara received the first prize while ‘Sürünün Zor Yolculuğu’ (The Hard Journey of Flock) directed by Deniz Girgin Koç Nazik got the second prize and ‘Kıymetli Bir Bina Öyküsü’ (Story of a Valuable Building) directed by Neslihan Semerci had the third prize.

On the other hand in Amateur Documentary Film branch, ‘Dişe Diş, Söze Söz’ (Eye For An Eye And A Word For A Word) directed by Sezer Ağgez received the first prize while ‘Nakavt’ (Knockout) by Hasan Akıncı and ‘Peki Şimdi Nereye?’(Now, where to Go?) by Zeynep Südinç had the second and third prizes.

‘Lifetime Honorary Award’ was given to Yalçın Yelence and Hilal Saral, while Zeki Koyuncu had Süha Arın Special Award.

After the speeches, the ceremony ended with the awards’ presentation to the ranking winners.